‘À Velocidade do Sol’: group of students from Porto and Santo Tirso win competition


With the Inter-municipal Final of the Solar Carts Race of the ‘À Velocidade do Sol’ competition, which took place in the Monte de São Brás Ecological Park, in Matosinhos, the winners of the initiative were selected.

In the Elementary School Level, the award-winning cart was “Solar moving, Towards the future”, from the Basic and Secondary School of Cerco do Porto, in the Municipality of Porto, designed by students Beatriz Baltazar, Carolina Pereira and Pedro Maia, from the science club “The little Einsteins”. The students were supported by Professor Isabel Costa and Professor António Lima.

Concerning the Secondary and Professional Education, the winning cart was the “FDTG”, from the Workshop – Professional School of INA, in the Municipality of Santo Tirso, designed by students Diogo Moreira, Francisco Carneiro, Tiago Ferreira, Gustavo Neto and David Abreu Class 2I, supported by Professors Fernando Félix and Ricardo Guimarães.

This initiative, organized as part of the Energy and Environment Week, with the support of E-Redes, was promoted at the 3rd cycle, secondary and professional teaching establishments of AdEPorto Member Municipalities, and aimed to encourage the design and construction of solar carts. The program’s organization supplied the photovoltaic solar panels and motors, with the design and construction being the responsibility of the creativity and ingenuity of the participating teams.

A total of 64 teams (24 in the Basic Education Level and 40 in the Secondary and Professional Education Level) and 253 students from the Municipalities of Gondomar, Matosinhos, Porto, Póvoa de Varzim, Santo Tirso, Trofa and Vila do Conde participated in the respective Municipalities races.

All carts that participated in the races were also rated by a jury, with the 1st place winners from each municipality being awarded in terms of design and conception.